Moscato Cupcakes

Standard

image (10)

My newest experiment was Moscato Cupcakes. I used this stuff, but you can use whatever brand you prefer!

photo (8)

The thing I really like about baking with wine, is that I only use a portion of the bottle, and I can drink the rest =)

So anyways, I used the usual ingredients, flour, sugar, soda (baking), salt, eggs, vinegar, and vegetable oil. The recipe also called for buttermilk, but since I didn’t have any, I put some milk (3/4 cup to be exact) in a separate bowl, with a little less than a tablespoon of white vinegar. I let that sit for a few minutes until it got a little thicker, then I put it in with the rest of the ingredients. If you don’t have vinegar, you can also use lemon juice. I have never tried it, but I hear it works just as well. The other unusual ingredient called for in the recipe was….. MOSCATO. Duh! I don’t know what you thought it was… I already showed you above what kind I used, but here’s another picture of some in a glass next to my finished batter.

photo (3)

The only rule about making Moscato cupcakes is that you MUST drink some of the wine. Otherwise, you’re just not making the effort to truly familiarize yourself with your ingredients.

As you can see in the picture, I added these fun little sprinkle things called batter bits (Wilton brand from Michaels), just to make them a little prettier.

Anyways, after I baked these bad boys, I made the frosting. I made 2 different frostings since one of them required wine, and I didn’t want to give that to my little sister. In the first one, I set some butter aside to soften, and I added a little milk, some powdered sugar and just a splash of vanilla to it. I then mixed it with my mixer thing, and added powdered sugar until I found a texture and taste I liked.

I did the same thing for the second frosting, but I used Moscato wine instead of milk. The recipe I used has specific measurements, but I always just make my frosting to taste.

Anyways, from there I just put the frosting on the cupcakes and gave them a little dash of pink sprinkles so they would look good for a picture. And voila!

Well, I hope you enjoyed reading my rambling.. Until next time!

Oops, almost forgot! Here’s the link to the recipe I used: http://brooke-bakes.blogspot.com/2012/04/moscato-cupcakes.html

Leave a Reply

