Let Me Tell You A Story About Champagne…

Standard

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’ve been baking, but nothing worthy of sharing with you guys… Except for these, which I forgot to post! So I made these terribly basic red velvets a couple weeks ago using Martha Stewart’s recipe (because she’s a culinary and crafting genius). They turned out basic but lovely.

But when I was making my cream cheese frosting (recipe below), I could not stand how thick and overwhelmingly sweet it was. Nothing I did made this frosting any less dense! But I had champagne in the fridge, because mimosas (duh), and I decided to pour some of that in there. And guess what?! It was probably the best frosting I have ever made. The champagne lightened it up a little, and made it a little less sweet.

So then we had 24 of these dangerous things in the house because this is a HUGE recipe. Luckily my family lives close by, so I brought some over there to fatten them up as well. =)

As always, I used regular whole milk with a tablespoon of white vinegar instead of buttermilk, and I used regular all purpose flour, because I am poor and cannot just buy cake flour and buttermilk. Oh, and I used wayyy more food coloring, because that 1/2 teaspoon just didn’t sound like it was enough.

The recipe: 

http://www.marthastewart.com/317517/red-velvet-cupcakes

Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 (8oz) bar cream cheese

4 tbsp butter (half a stick)

1/2 cup powdered sugar (more or less, to taste)

1/4 to 1/2 cup champagne, to taste/texture

Leave a Reply

